Some of my longtime readers may remember that several years ago, before the Shadow World novels came out, I had another fiction series over on LiveJournal called The Agency.  It was made up of short stories and novellas, and took place in an entirely different version of Austin than the Shadow World books.

I had them available here for a while, but the series was never finished, and finally I took them down so I could decide what to do with them.  I loved the stories – I loved the characters, the world I’d built for them to run around in – but since they were written at around the same time as Queen of Shadows, there were quite a few small similarities to the Shadow World characters and situations, and in order to try and publish them traditionally I would have had to substantially rewrite a lot of it.  I hated to do that, though.  I loved them just as they were, even with all of those similarities.  So I debated with myself long and hard over what to do with them.

Well, I finally decided.

Now available from’s Kindle Store as well as here:  The Agency, Volume 1.

Volume 1Sara Larson is a pretty average Witch until her coven starts killing people. She runs far and fast to Austin, where she thinks she’ll be safe, but even a new life can’t protect her from the past–and before she knows it, armed men storm her apartment and she is hauled in for interrogation by a strange young man in a long black coat…a young man who doesn’t seem to have a reflection.

Established as an independent sister organization to the FBI, the Shadow Agency fights the kind of crime normal law enforcement can’t: demon-summoning sorcerers, dealers in illegal magical artifacts, even drug lords selling the kind of Ecstasy that could bring on the Apocalypse.

Sara finds herself thrown into the Agency’s administrative department, but that’s only the beginning for the Witch, whose career trajectory and sex life both spin wildly away from the mundane as soon as she sets foot in the Agency’s base of operations.

In this collection of short stories that first appeared on her website in 2008, Dianne Sylvan introduces Austin’s occult law enforcement: Jason Adams, lead Agent, vampire, and violinist; his snarky twin sister Beck, who goes through more bullets than blood; Rowan, an Elf who was once a sacred prostitute, now scarred inside and out from years of slavery; Ness, the human leader of the Texas branch of the Agency; Frog, a brilliant researcher working to combine science and sorcery; Sage, a Witch and baker whose cupcakes are to die for; and of course Sara herself, who will turn all of their lives upside down as she learns how to use her psychic abilities and discovers the depth of her own strength.

There will be at least two more volumes in the series, and that means yes, the series will be finished – I plan to get on it as soon as I’m done writing Shadow World book 5.

You can either purchase Volume 1 for your Kindle through Amazon (click on the image to head over there) or you can download a pdf of the book here just like my other e-books.  Click the buttons below to purchase the pdf.

Enjoy!  I don’t have an exact date for Volume 2 yet, but as soon as I do I’ll let you know.

The Agency, Volume 1 pdf – $4.99 USD

Add to Cart

View Cart

Become my patron for exclusive online content and read new stories before anyone else!
Scroll To Top